INEC Creates Additional 1,832 Polling Unit In Ogun




INEC Creates Additional 1,832 Polling Unit In Ogun

As part of it’s effort to ensure credible election in the State, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Ogun state chapter has created 1,832 additional polling unit across the state.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner, Professor Abdul Ganiu Olayinka Raji disclosed this at the INEC stakeholders meeting held at the INEC Media centre Magbon Abeokuta, Ogun state.

The Professor said the Commission deliberately approved the lower and upper thresholds for voting points to 500 and 750 voters respectively which brings the number of units in Ogun state from existing 3,210 to 5042.

Olayinka Raji said the objective of the exercise are to expand voters access to polling unit by converting existing voting points and voting points settlement into stand alone polling unit and where necessary relocating new and existing polling unit to places where they are closer to and more accessible for voters and the Commission.

“Decongest existing polling units by reducing the number of voters per polling unit, continue to improve the quality of electoral services provided to Nigerians by the Commission.

” Improve health and safety conditions at polling units during election in order to comply with the Covid -19 protocols, Address declining voters turnout at election due to lack of access to polling units.

He therefore reiterated that the Commission will be commencing the continuous voters registration effective from Monday 28th June 2021 and it will be carried out continuously nationwide for over a year until the third quarter of 2022.

Spread the love




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here